jump to navigation

Experiment over April 10, 2008

Posted by reverseengineer in Ramblings, Uncategorized.
trackback

All good things come to an end, so they say.

     I didn’t think it would come this soon, but it has. 

     I gave up my EeePC.

     Don’t kill me. It went to a new owner, someone who I think would love it as much as I do or even more. It’s her first ever laptop, and would help her immensely in her work and her life. I am the first one to preach the virtues of a laptop as a major enabler, and gladly pass my EeePC on to someone.

     It was never mine to begin with, really. It never felt like it, much as I wanted to claim it as my own. It was my sidearm, my familiar, my shadow, my friend – for a time. But I’ve always felt deep down like I was just a temporary caretaker of it for someone else.

     I think it’s happy with the new owner, and the new owner seems to be happy with it. Which is all good.

     At first I thought I’d be using it for many months more at least, or if I ever did give it up anytime soon, it would be for another of its generation, an upgraded version. But maybe not now. Not yet, anyway.

     It wasn’t an impulsive thing to let it go. I thought long and hard to just keep it, even if I did get another laptop, but in the end decided it was best put to long and good use by someone else. It would be a waste to just keep it in a box in my closet, rather like a bird in a cage.

     I never doubted it’s a great laptop, and in other circumstances the EeePC would be The One, the keeper. (Well, to be completely truthful, not exactly this one, but maybe the EeePC 900, with the bigger screen – if I could afford the upgrade – but if it had to be just this I wouldn’t feel bad). Alas, it’s not to be. I’m still looking, and it’s time to move on.

     So the Experiment is over.

     After several months exclusively using it, what have I learned?

     That the Asus EeePC is a good machine, affordable, capable, useful, portable. Within reason, there’s hardly anything you can’t do with it. It’s the gadget with the best value for money I’ve ever gotten in my life, bar none. It’s rock solid, and certainly touches the heart. I will continue to give it the highest recommendations.

     But much as I have gotten used to it, my hands still have small continuing arguments with the keyboard, and my eyes often decry the size of the screen. As I get older I know this won’t abate, but likely get worse. Young whippersnappers won’t have these problems, but I’m an old fart already, even before I got the EeePC.

     I’ve also hit the wall of the storage issue a few times, most recently with that endless reboot loop when I uninitentionally filled up the SSD that I wrote about in a previous post. The storage limitation’s not a deal-breaker, but it still makes me grit my teeth now and then. 

     On the other hand I enjoyed the convenience immensely. I loved that I could bring it everywhere without endangering my back and shoulders. I loved the reliability and facility of Xandros (which I’ve learned to use in my time with my EeePC). Most of all I loved that I could work anywhere and everywhere. Not to mention seeing the occasional double-take from passersby.

     But I found myself still looking for something else. Bigger screen, bigger keyboard, more storage, apart from the lightness and portability, convenience, reliability and ease of use I got accustomed to. Comfort is a big thing for an old fart.

     I think I know what that something is already; if you know me a bit you even might be able to guess what it is. (Contrary to what I’ve previously said. I am going to eat crow soon.) But there are two main differences though: physical size (in terms of dimensions at least), and that value-for-money thing. I can live with the size, but the price is the big hurdle. Way big.

     I’ve been resisting the siren call, clasping the little EeePC to my chest for strength, but it keeps haunting me. But I know what I want now, even if I have to eat my words. I’m setting my sights in that direction, and hopefully I can find a way.

     And since the Experiment is over, I’m sad to say this blog will have to end here as well. I’ve said all I can and have nothing more to contribute. 

     I hope you don’t think I’m turning my back on the whole thing, and that this is an indictment of the EeePC. I was happy and satisfied, and learned and did a lot with it. The experiment was a success. I’ve just decided, while it’s perfect for a lot of folk, in the end, honestly speaking, it’s just not for me. I hope me ending my sojourn with the Little One won’t turn others off it.

     Speaking of which, I loved the people I’ve met over the course of the experiment. Like-minded geeks who did the things I did, kindred souls who’ll remain friends, I hope. I intend to still monitor our users group as much as I can, if they’ll have me.

     Someday if I get my hands on the newer versions of the EeePC, I might resume posting here, or create another blog entirely. But this one will be up for while yet, and new users who want to know what it’s like can go back and read my drivel and see how I handled it.

     In the meantime I have my other blogs, if you want to keep up with my doings and goings-on. There’s my Mac blog, Mac A Doodle, on the Inquirer network, and there’s the P.W.I.T. Blog (Philippine Week in Tech!) with my fellow tech editors and writers, and my personal blog among others. And of course my print work at Hinge Inquirer. All the links are somewhere here on pEEEPCee, and my magazines are on the newsstands.

     Please feel free to continue to rant on the Comments portion of this post. You can call me names or comiserate with me, or just shoot the breeze. I’ll check often and reply faithfully. Would love to keep hearing from you guys. Maybe someday soon, I’ll come back to the fold anyway, and all this would be a bad dream. Who knows?

     All I know for sure is that this was a hard post to write. Thanks for reading this far, and thanks for reading my little blog all these months. I had a blast, and hope you did too.

     But for now, I gotta go, gotta run, gotta make tracks… catch you elsewhere on the ether, EeePC users!

Comments»

1. Gord - April 10, 2008

I’ve enjoyed reading your blog posts over the last few months and would like to thank you for your insight, time and effort.

All the best for the future,
perhaps we’ll meet again…

Gord

2. Art - April 10, 2008

Adel: I think I know what that something is already; if you know me a bit you even might be able to guess what it is.

An HP 2133 Mini-Note? 😀

Seriously though, thanks for sharing your little discoveries with us. I always looked forward to your posts. I still have my eeep, so I will take time out to taunt you with it every now and then…

3. Chris - April 11, 2008

I too enjoyed this blog. I’d like to share with you a quick story about how I’m temporarily replacing my broken iMac with an Eee PC. Two years back, I purchased a G5 iMac to be used as my family computer. After a year and a half, the screen / video chip crashed and Apple offered to fix it for $950 (it was a very generous offer).

This past Christmas, I purchased an Eee PC. Since then the family has been fighting for time with the small wonder. While the small screen and keyboard are fine for quick surfing while on the couch, it does have it’s limitations (same limitations you listed in this blog entry). To overcome these limitations, I purchased a 22″ HP LCD display ($250 at Tiger Direct) and connected my Mac keyboard and 3rd party mouse to the EeePC. I now have a laptop computer, that acts as a desktop computer and can revert back to a laptop whenever we need it. I see it as a MacMini competitor that costs less, is mobile, and more reliable than my previous Mac.

Of course the MacMini has benefits including the MacOS, iLife, etc… but this is a nice solution, until I get over my anger at Apple over my iMac experience.

4. bernie - April 11, 2008

Ah, the allure of breathing “AIR”…

As for me, I’m still waiting for my multi-touch, full-sized macbook

5. cloudwalker - April 11, 2008

aaargh, you’re no OLD fart! (pout) and here I was looking forward to seeing you in in the upcoming M&GIII so I could pester a master into teaching me how to get around inside Blackeee’s mind 😛 (and btw, he seems ok now)

6. reverseengineer - April 11, 2008

@Gord: Thanks for reading.

@Art: 😛

@Chris: I know – I’ve used mine in almost the same way.

@Bernie: Take the plunge na!

@cloudwalker: Thanks, but I assure you I am one. I’ll see you at the meet; I may not have one physically, but I’m still an Eeepc user at heart!

7. nenyalorien/Lorie - May 9, 2008

This blog post sure read like a farewell to a well-loved former flame.

Why is it that we geeks treat our machines like lovers eh? 🙂

Love this blog. 🙂

Thanks for this!


Leave a Reply

