jump to navigation

Modem Blues February 2, 2008

Posted by reverseengineer in Accessories, Hardware, Xandros.
trackback

I don’t really, absolutely, need a modem.

But being a card-carrying geek, I still want one.

It’s just one of those things you don’t need and would never use but would like to have access to if that rare opportunity ever presented itself. Like when you’re stuck in a wifi-cold area and you just need to get that email out to your boss. Or (God forbid) fax something to the office.

That rubber cover on the faux modem port on the left side of the Eeep always bugs me whenever I notice it. I wish Asus had put a modem in, or else ponied up the extra cash to make a case mold that took that hole out of there, instead of glueing a rubber plug over it first until they decide to actually add a modem to the production line. I’ve always hated these vestigial kinds of things. It like …taunts me.

Which brings me to the question I wanted to ask readers of this blog.

I own an Apple USB Modem. It’s fifty bucks off the Apple site. (I’m actually surprised that the creature still exists, frankly.) It’s compact and handy and looks cool; if it came in black it’d be perfect.

Seeing as Xandros and Mac OS X have the same birth mother, I thought there would be a good chance the modem would be plug-and-play on the EeePC.

Alas, no. The Eeep recognizes the device, and you can create a specific connection setting for it, but when you jack into a phone and try, it can’t initialize the device. Urm.

I’ve looked into it through Google eyes, and apparently no one’s yet tried an Apple USB Modem with an EeePC (else I just couldn’t find someone who did). There are of course the usual solutions based on similar situations, but I’m not about to recompile the kernel just to get a modem working. I’m not that OC about it. But still.

Just wondering if anyone knows how to crack this particular egg, or if not yet, if someone with stronger Linux mojo would try.

Anybody?

Comments»

1. Lawrence - February 4, 2008

I agree. I am not always blessed with a wifi signal. I want to be able to go back to the 1990s and use a dial up connection when broadband is not available.

Someone has been using a USB modem from CDR King (http://www.cdrking.com/local/products/index.php?action=&temp=2&typeno=5398859-567292-612195429-6878404&prod=Fax/Modem&prodcode=3809967-677926-516574676-2757733)

to connect to a local BBS.
http://eeeph.com/index.php/topic,276.0.html


Leave a Reply

