jump to navigation

EeeX! January 16, 2008

Posted by reverseengineer in Ubuntu.
trackback

I’m considering trying out Xubuntu as an alternate operating system for Xandros, since there’s been an EeePC-specific version for the Asus subnote already, called EeeXubuntu, available.

I’ve used Ubuntu before on an ancient Mac and really liked it, but had to let it go when I changed jobs and had to leave the Mac at the old office where it belonged.

I downloaded the ISO image file from LinuxTracker and made a bootable CD of it on another machine, but as I don’t own a USB optical drive I couldn’t use it on the Eeep. So I ran Xubuntu live on my Thinkpad, then issued a short command (sudo /cdrom/mkusbinstaller.sh –autodetect) on Terminal to turn my 1 GB flash drive into a live, bootable stick.

Then I plugged the stick into my Eeep and turned it on, leaning on the Esc button so it’d give me boot options (three – the SSD, the SD and the USB Flash). I picked the stick, and voila, eeeXubuntu. I can install it from the stick, but for now I’ll just run it live. Everything works, apparently.

It looks better (more polished; feels more real than Xandros somehow), and runs snappier. Or then again it just might be just my imagination. But reading more about it, I understand now that I’ll need to jump through many hoops to get it to the comfortable config that Xandros is at now, and I haven’t time for it. So maybe I’ll save that for next time.

For now though, this is great. I actually did this whole entry on Xubuntu Live on my EeePC, including sourcing the graphic, tweaking it with Gimp, then uploading it. If I didn’t know better, I’d swear this whole setup was being run locally, it runs so fast.

This is my idea of fun.

Comments»

1. manny - January 25, 2008

really cool

ill give it a try 🙂

2. Ade - February 11, 2008

I just downloaded the .iso… will go about this over the weekend.

3. bob - February 23, 2008

Wifi works out of the box?


Leave a Reply

