jump to navigation

Why January 3, 2008

Posted by reverseengineer in Ramblings.
trackback

Hello. I’m Adel, the writer of this blog. If you want to know more about me, click on the About pEEEPCee tab near the top. Or not.

Those who know me might be a little puzzled why I’m doing this. So am I. I think it’s crazy to start another blog when I got my hands full with several others I can’t even update regularly. Heck, I don’t know. It’s just that I’m having such fun with this oddly named, relatively inexpensive, tiny little thing that speaks a language I hardly understand, yet can do everything I’m used to, I feel compelled to write about it.

So what’s a Mac user doing with a Linux-based UMPC?

I’m a card-carrying Mac facist. I’m as platform-racist as they get, and I’m unapologetic about it. While I still work in Windows, my allegiances are clear, unlike my fellow EEEPC blogger Bernie Janda of NoyPeee, who’s platform-agnostic (his term). Yet this thing has caught my full attention and is taking up so much of my time my wife would throw it into the trash if she could pry it from my hands (I’m afraid she’s going to start hiding the charger).

Which brings me to why I’m doing this blog. I haven’t had this much fun since I first discovered computers in the early 80s. Figuring things out by myself (with lots of help from the plethora of other EEEPC blogs, forums and websites and friends like Bernie and Art Ilano, and my brother Burt), and the adventure of learning a new OS at this stage of my geek life brings me back to the good old days, when I was learning the DOS command line interface. God help me, I am shamelessly reading Linux for Dummies now.

I figured I’d chronicle my experiment. Write down my ideas, impressions, observations, frustrations, both with the new hardware and the software. See if an old dog can actually learn new tricks.

So don’t expect to glean new tips and tricks, or great insights about technology and life in the twenty-first century here. For that you have NoyPeee and eeeuser and all of those. And I’m guessing pEEEPCee eventually wouldn’t be updated as often as I’d like, but I’ll try to keep it coming. In the first month you’ll likely see a lot of stumbling, bumbling newbie posts, so if you decide to read on, don’t expect much.

All I can say is I’m sure I’ll have lots of fun with this computer, this OS, and this blog.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

